Reading My Way Around the Globe … kind of.

I do not own this image.

I know there are many challenges like this floating around, but I wanted to create my own so that I could avoid actual commitment as much as possible. If you have been a constant visitor for the past couple of years, you know that I am not good (read: absolutely terrible!) at reading for a challenge. I’m likely to fail unless I provide myself with a very liberal time frame and no pressure. So here is a challenge like that.

I am not going to force myself to read any of these. This list will hang around my blog for as long as it needs to. I’ll track my progress as I go. Also, I’m not forcing myself to review any of these if I don’t want to. This is simply an effort to be less eurocentric in my reading. A minimal effort, I acknowledge. 

6 continents; 32 countries/books; a mix of modern literature, modern classics, and classics.

Starting with my current home:

Canada – The Double Hook by Sheila Watson
USA – The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne
Mexico – Like Water for Chocolate by Laura Esquivel
Cuba – Explosion In a Cathedral by Alejo Carpentier
Colombia – Hundred Years… OR Love in the Time… by Gabriel Garcia Marquez
Argentina – Ficciones by Jorge Luis Borges
Chile – Poems by Pablo Neruda
South Africa – Disgrace by J.M. Coetzee
Kenya – A Grain of Wheat by Ngũgĩ wa Thiong’o
Nigeria – Half of a Yellow Sun by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
Egypt – Palace Walk by Naguib Mahfouz
Algeria – The Stranger by Albert Camus (French but Algerian-born)
Spain – Don Quixote by Miguel de Cervantes
Greece – Zorba the Greek by Nikos Kazantzakis
Italy – The Name of the Rose by Umberto Eco
France – Madame Bovary by Gustave Flaubert
Germany – The Sorrows of Young Werther by Goethe
Austria/Czech Republic – The Trial by Franz Kafka
Poland – Solaris by Stanislaw Lem
Netherlands – The Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank
Denmark – We, the Drowned by Carsten Jensen
Sweden – Pippi Longstocking by Astrid Lindgren
Finland – The Egyptian by Mika Waltari (thanks for the rec, Anastasia!)
Ireland – The Last September by Elizabeth Bowen
Scotland – The Dumb House by John Burnside
England – On Beauty by Zadie Smith
Russia – Idiot by Fyodor Dostoyevsky
Kazakhstan – The Day Lasts More Than a Hundred Years by Chingiz Aitmatov
Middle East (clumped together because it’s a collection, forgive me)One Thousand and One Night
India – Midnight’s Children by Salman Rushdie
China – The Art of War by Sun Tzu
Japan – Kusamakura by Natsume Soseki
Australia – Picnic at Hanging Rock by Joan Lindsay

Let me know if you are doing similar challenges & if you have any recommendations! Thank you!

7 responses to “Reading My Way Around the Globe … kind of.

Owl Post

