“The Fault in Our Stars” by John Green

tfiosThe Fault in Our Stars by John Green
313 pages
First Published 2012
1/3 contemporary (2013 Book Challenge)

 

 

Let me start with the usual assurance that I do not indulge in the YA genre, but I most definitely know who John Green is, what he looks like, and what he sounds like. (I’m not creepy).

Writing down my thoughts about a book whose author is still breathing is rather unusual for me, and a tiny bit scary. (I mean, after disliking Voltaire’s work I know he won’t chase me with an ax, but an author who is very much alive may do just that … 🙂 )

However, I am not disliking John Green or his work. Yes, of course, in my mind The Fault in Our Stars will never match the greatness of, say, The Great Gatsby for example… (I cannot live without poking fun at words) … but it is a cute book to cuddle up with, nothing too philosophical, but it does have its doze of brilliant (and sometimes philosophical) quotes.

Look at me, I cannot give a compliment without criticism.

The Fault in Our Stars is not a cancer book, but it is a book about cancer. Life. Death. It seems pointless to include a synopsis of such a recent, and widely read book. I was pleasantly surprised that the characters are intelligent and eloquent (something I noticed in Looking for Alaska as well), and are avid readers. At least Hazel seems to be.

Basically, I was sick once (with a cold), and this book was a perfect read for a sickbed.

Rating

4-stars

Note to self: Write reviews/thoughts/opinions about a book right after I finish it when impressions are fresh, and thoughts are burbling.

Owl Post

