My review of Jane Eyre…so far

I promised myself and you, Reader, that I will finish and review Jane Eyre by Sunday, that is, today. As always, circumstances have cheated me.

However, I would like to review my progress into the book. I am on page 302 out of 520. Mr. Rochester already proposed to Jane, and she is ecstatic. Fate is on her side, for now. I say for now, because I know what happens, because I have watched the current movie adaptation. Twice! (It seemed so good, I could not resist.) But I think almost anybody who knows anything about Jane Eyre and Mr. Rochester, knows the general outline. The movie was great — the book is brilliant!

The plot is so intricate and vivid, that the reader is never left idle. Something always happens right when the tedious and mundane atmosphere of Thornfield is beginning to bore. Yet, the story is always realistic; even when Charlotte Bronte weaves something crazy into the story line, there is always some kind of explanation for it, she always makes sure it is real and possible.

Jane is a wonderful narrator, and she allows a lot of  insight about her character as she narrates. She is prudent and resourceful, and she speaks her mind when she feels her needs and rights are not respected. I love how different Jane is from all the Miss Ingrams, Miss Reeds, and other “fashionable ladies”! At times I wish her self-esteem about her appearance and beauty was a little bit higher, but otherwise Jane Eyre is such a strong role model.

One of my favourite moments is when Jane reflects on Mr. Rochester’s beauty. She did not think him a handsome man, but as she began to know more of his character she starts to question…

And was Mr. Rochester now ugly in my eyes? No, reader: gratitude, and many associations, all pleasurable and genial, made his face the object I best liked to see; his presence in a room was more cheering than the brightest fire.

And so Jane slowly falls in love with Mr. Rochester, she attempts to eradicate her love for him when she thinks he is going to marry the (detestable) Miss Ingram, but Jane only ends up loving him stronger. After browsing some reviews of Jane Eyre, I noticed quite a few people were debating the question of whether Mr. Rochester was or was not handsome. All I want to mention on that account is that beauty is in the eyes of the beholder, or rather, as Jane said, “Most true is it that ‘beauty is in the eye of the gazer.'” If Mr. Rochester had a nose in the center of his face, and eyes that could deliver thoughts, and a mouth that could speak most eloquently, even if roughly at times — his face would not be repelling, but pleasant. And my heart skipped a beat, too, when he said

“Good-night, my-” He stopped, bit his lip, and abruptly left me.”

And so I shall abruptly leave you here, Reader, with a feeling of expectation…

…as I return to Thornfield Hall.

 

Edit: I finished the novel!! 

6 responses to “My review of Jane Eyre…so far

Owl Post

