Dickens’s Best Novel?

I was browsing through my Facebook home page and I found this link (provided by Charles Dickens’s fan page). Dickens’s best novel? I had to see what they thought it was. Bleak House. (It isn’t singularly Bleak House, you have to read all six opinions about David Copperfield, Little Dorrit, and Our Mutual Friend.) But Bleak House being the only novel out of the four that I have read, and one of my favourite books, I had to discuss this.

I do think the novel has a brilliantly intricate plot, many diverse characters, which all have their small contributions to the main story line,amazing language, and pacing, and timing, and the overall layout: all of this makes it a Dickensian masterpiece! I cannot say I agree or disagree that Bleak House is his best novel (as I haven’t read all his works), but I am leaning towards “agree”, of course.

_________________________________________________________________
What do you think is Dickens’s best novel? Do you think it is even possible to determine a “best novel”? 

8 responses to “Dickens’s Best Novel?

  1. I’ve only read A Tale of Two Cities, and though it took me forever to get into it, in the end I really liked it. I’m required to read Bleak House for my upcoming college English class, and now I’m looking forward to it!

    • Bleak House, although very long and intimidating at sight, left me more than satisfied by the time I finished. I hope you enjoy it! I have yet to read A Tale of Two Cities.
      Thank you for your comment! :)

  2. I loved Our Mutual Friend! Great Expectations is a sentimental favorite because my dad read it to me when I was a kid. Oliver was touching. I need to read David Copperfield again because the one I read was abridged, and the characterizations weren’t as vivid. I think my favorite has to be The Pickwick Papers. It doesn’t follow the same setup of his other stories, really. That threw me off for a bit. In the end, I was delighted by its joy and inspired to try writing from a new angle. After reading TPP, I wanted to know more about Dickens and read a few biographies. It gave me a better understanding of why I craved the spirit of his earlier works. I haven’t read Bleak House, and I’m thinking I should do so soon! Thanks!

    • I think Great Expectations was my introduction to Dickens… Or Oliver Twist. One or the other: I loved them both! I plan on reading all the works, and a biography of Dickens.
      Thank you for your comment, and read it! :D

    • I have yet to read David Copperfield, but I heard that it has some autobiographical references to Dickens’s own life. Also DC initials are in reverse CD—Charles Dickens. :) Thank you for your comment!

  3. I watched the Bleak House mini-series through Netflix (loved it) and picked up a copy of the book at the library, only to realize when I got home that the edition I picked up was the second of two volumes. :/ But, hey, it picks up with the spontaneous combustion, so all is not lost.

Owl Post

