Four Favourite Publishers

As a decent lover of books, I have a preference in what publishers I buy from. This preference is not followed strictly, or anything of that sort, but whenever I see an edition from my favourite publishing company, that edition will be chosen over another.
Here are the top four favourite publishers I seek out on the shelves of bookstores…

1. Oxford University Press

Precisely, Oxford World’s Classics, as I read mostly classics and therefore tend to buy them, too. 

OWC books are very flexible, yet nicely binded, paperbacks. Older editions have paintings as covers, which is my favourite type of cover design. Newer editions may have photographs, something I dislike.

I own Villette, The Tenant of Wildfell Hall, and Oliver Twist from Oxford University Press.

Here is the link to browse through their online catalogue:

USA website:

http://www.oup.com/us/catalog/general/series/OxfordWorldsClassics/?

view=usa

Canada website:

http://www.oupcanada.com/catalog/advanced_search_result.php?title=&author=&isbn=&subject=&level=&series_code=OWC

UK website:
http://ukcatalogue.oup.com/category/academic/series/general/owc.do

2. Penguin (Group)

Once again, more specifically Penguin Classics. At various times, there are editions by different cover designers, some prettier than others. Currently there is an ongoing Deluxe Edition for classics, such as Wuthering Heights and Jane Eyre. However, I have already purchased those two before, in a Penguin Classics edition from Coralie Bickford-Smith. They are beautiful! The former was given to me as a present from a beloved friend, from here. Jane Eyre was given to me by my beloved mother. I experience a craving for A Christmas Carol from this edition. Check it out below…

Penguin Website (contains links to desired countries):
http://penguin.com/

Deluxe Editions (Canada):
CLICK

Bickford-Smith Editions:
http://www.penguin.ca/nf/Search/AdvSearchProc/1,,S589,00.html

3. Arcturus

This one is a little known publishing company, I believe. I hope I am wrong, but it seems so… I owe my full Austen collection to them, as well as Wilkie Collins’ Moonstone. Their designs are fairly simple, with incorporated paintings. I will let the images speak for themselves.

Unfortunately, Arcturus doesn’t seem to have an online catalogue for online shopping, but they do have a website!

Arcturus:
http://www.arcturuspublishing.com/

Even if ordering books is possible, it seems the service is accessible

only to UK and Ireland. But look for Arcturus editions at your
bookstore chain?

 

 

4. Wordsworth Editions 

Here is their adult classics catalogue:Wordsworth is another amazing publishing, which offers relatively affordable editions (£2-4, convert to your currency). My choice is, of course, adult classics and children’s classics. I own quite a few of the latter titles, here is an example of Peter Pan &c.  I love the design of them, it is as if a child drew them!From their adult classics collection I purchased Tess of the D’Urbervilles.

http://www.wordsworth-editions.com/category/classics

Browse through the children’s classics,too!

 

So, here they are!

Share yours, reflect on mine? 

Owl Post

